Allegro Moon

Another lunar cycle complete, the cycle continues.

In the North, the time of harvest as winter slowly approaches.  For the polar opposite, the days grow longer.  (And I guess it doesn’t really matter in between…)

Been reminiscing about the years since the turn of the millenium.  Especially 2007, taking an introductory philsophy class and recovering from a crippling depression the year before due to… loneliness.  Feeling like I couldn’t relate to anyone, not having a clear path to follow on so many levels.

What gave me pleasure?  Was pleasure all there was to existence?

That year, I learned that material excess does not translate into a ‘happy’ life.  One lesson of many.  I did not fully understand though how to maintain one’s constitution though in order to last for many years, and that such measures extended beyond mere victuals.  Peace of mind.

Much of this encompasses the courage to be one’s true self, despite having to bear the pain of disappointing not only the ones you love but also of failing to meet those goals you’ve made of yourself.  The trauma is still felt, yet I’ve learned to count my blessings and eventually recover.

There’s this spot in the city where I nearly died.  I pass by it all the time, and the feeling gives me chills.  (I could have perished not knowing what I currently know and enjoy.)  The smile of a child, my own.

This morning, I awoke wishing that someone was in the same bed as me.  As the day progressed, I forgot about that wish and counted my lucky stars that I didn’t kill myself shaving. :’)  Cooking myself poverty meals fit to be sold, growing older with grace and serenity.  Listening to my heart which remains a child, my own.

Quietly munching on youthful blades of dark green kale doused in sesame oil, honey and sea salt in the quiet of my room.  The little things in life can be enough to live for, they say.

The heaviness of a heart slowly releasing the accumulated poison contained within.  Perhaps never to function as it did while 17 years of age, but as healthy as it needs to be for any given age… hopefully.  You never know what’s gonna happen.  I’m not invincible, nobody is.  To those of you who know me that I love and don’t get a chance to see after today or to respond to your letters, I wish you well.

26 thoughts on “Allegro Moon”

  1. Some people die a little bit more than other people, but if we overcome all these sucking vibes, for sure we attain a certain view on life, that only ourselves may understand, though it makes us feel the loneliest people on earth, yet our strength and capacity to survive goes far beyond everything. As for me, I am an alien 🙂

    Liked by 4 people

  2. I love kale…I use it in my soups on a regular basis! I like the dark green and the purple varieties the best.

    I think I’ll do a post about my chicken soup, one of these days – vegans can use the recipe, sans the chicken, I’d say!
    😉

    Liked by 3 people

      1. Somewhere in the back of my mind I think I already new about kale, but carrots are a new one. I don’t think I’ve ever eaten Swiss chard. I do know this: as we age potassium becomes increasingly more important if we expect to be able to absorb calcium to keep our bones strong and our teeth healthy. Let’s hear it for all three in our soups this winter.
        xx,
        mgh
        (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMore dot com)
        – ADD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder –
        “It takes a village to educate a world!”

        Liked by 3 people

      2. I wasn’t doubting you, but it’s good to know about the link – thanks. I love lentil soup – and black bean – and white bean – and, well almost any soup, as long as it’s home made. (the canned stuff is pretty nasty – unless it is seriously doctored with some fresh ingredients.) 🙂
        xx,
        mgh

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I love swiss chard – I use kale, swiss chard, and bok choy in my chicken soup…excellent veggies!
        I like the purple kale, and swiss chard comes in a rainbow variety: red, yellow, orange, and green. Excellent stuff!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment